Jetzt schnell buchen

Excursions in Tux

TUX MILLE - Juns
The Tux mill goes back to 1839 and has been renovated to provide a piece of mountain peasant history. In the earlier days, farmsteads had to be self-sufficient and barley grew well even at these heights. Barley flour was not only used to bake bread but rather certain types of pastries (sweet noodles, Austrian doughnuts, etc.)

 

MOUNTAIN PEASANT MUSEUM - Höllensteinhütte
The proprietors of the Höllenstein Cabin (at 1740 m) have lovingly gathered together farming implements from days gone by such as a wooden plow, scythes, head and back carriers, a carving bench, hand wool carder, a plane, a butter tub, windmills, etc. From Lanersbach approx. 1 hour to walk.

 

 

MEHLERHAUS - Madseit
The Mehlerhaus was built in the 17th century, and has been restored by the District of Tux with the assistance of the local population to create a cultural centre and a small museum. The farm was lived in until 1992 and contains beautiful old wooden Stuben and the kitchen that once formed the focal point of peasant life. The Mehlerhaus is open every Friday (13th July - end of September) from 13.00 - 18.00 and interested guests learn everything on the subject of country, people, culture and rural work in Tux.

ALPINE CHEESE FACTORY - Juns
Watch how cheese is made in the Alps. At the Junsalm, at an elevation of 1984 m, with the Stoankasern-Cabin, you can watch how milk turns into butter and cheese daily from 7 to 11 a.m. Walking time: approx. 2 1/2 hours from Lanersbach.

 

 

CHURCHES AND CHAPELS
The church in Finkenberg was built in an early baroque style in 1721, and is dedicated to St. Leonard. Four chapels can also be found in Finkenberg: The Innerberg Chapel at the end of the village, the Herzjesu Chapel at the village entrance, the Heimkehr Chapel in Persal and the Hochsteg Chapel in Hochsteg. The artist, Wolfram Köberle from Innsbruck, created the wall murals in 1965. Tuxer parish church in Lanersbach, Mariahilfkapelle in Vorderlanersbach (Testerkapelle) Barbarakapelle in the former area of the Magnesitwerk on top of Vorderlanersbach, church Maria Himmelfahrt in Hintertux, chapel in Madseit Art interested find all details to the beautiful culture sites in the special church leader.

 

PANORAMA TERRACE - Hintertux Glacier
365 days of snow and the fascination of ice on the Hintertux glacier. Visit the panorama-terrace on the mountain station at 3,250m above sea level - with a breathtaking panorama from the Großglockner, to the Ortler group all the way to the Dolomites and the Zugspitze – enjoy the experience of climbing by one of the most spectacular cable cars in the Alps.

 

SPANNAGEL CAVE - Hintertux
Behind the Spannagelhaus on the Hintertux glacier starts an adventure under the earth. The cave near the Spannagelhaus is unique. With a length of 4,2 km and the deepest shaft of 25 m it is one of the most popular caves in Tyrol. A part of the cave was opened in July 1994. A guide explains stalactites, sinters, crystals etc. and shows pictorial arts which were created by nature. The 300 million year old stones tell the story of the development of the glacier. Guided tours all year round.

 

STAMMGÄSTE-GIPFELKREUZ
The summit cross on Ramsjoch (2,600 m)- in honour for all Tux Guests. The summit of the cross is on the Eggalm Grüblspitze in about 1 ½ hours walk away.

 

 

 

FARMSTED GROUP GEMAIS - Vorderlansersbach
The group of farmsteads in the hamlet of Gemais is distinguished by its stylistic unity which can be taxed back to the 18th century. The group as such is already an impressive collection of folkloric history. The economic and cultural historic value also deserves mention, since the group began with a dairy farmstead which had been founded in the 13th century. The division of the original farm produced the four separate farm sectors which still exist today. This farmstead group is a prime example of constructional and economic developments of the medieval dairy farming groups..

 

DEVIL'S BRIDGE - Finkenberg
A rare example of Tyrolean timber construction work can be found in the Devil's Bridge, which was built in 1876. The bridge spans a narrow, deep gorge, where the Tuxer River flows. The Hochsteg Bridge also originates from the 19th century and spans the Zemm River. Other interesting natural monuments which can be found in the village include the "Alte Linde" (110 year old lime tree), and the "Alte Buche" (750 year old beech tree).

 

MINERAL AND CHRYSTAL MUSEUM - Finkenberg
The mineral and crystal museum in Finkenberg has an impressive selection of semi-precious stones which have been found in the Zillertal Alps. On display are fine examples of quartz, amethysts, rutil and adularia with calcite, formed millions of years ago in crevices and fissures when the Alps came into being. This high quality collection is one of the finest in Zillertal.

 

WATERFALL TRAIL
The magnificent natural spectacle of waterfalls thundering down the mountainside into the valley below is a sight not to be missed.

 

 

 

Read more:

Our Partner

Kulinarisches Erbe - AMA Gastrosiegel Bewusst Tirol - Qualität Tirol Logo Hochgebirgs-Naturpark Zillertaler Alpen Wanderhotels Tirol Zillertal.at
vioma GmbH